To qualify for this exception in Texas, you need to jump through a number of hoops. The first step to obtaining an Occupational License is to know why your Texas Driver's License has been suspended in the first place. Then you will need to sign and notarize the petition, obtain an and pay the county filing fee. Then there is a 180 day waiting period. You can qualify for an occupational license only if you prove to the court that you require driving privileges to do your regular job, to get to and from work or school, or to do essential household duties. Assuming all goes well, you will get your license in the mail in three to four weeks.
The Aragon Law firm will do the necessary research to find out exactly why your license is suspended. You may be asking this if your license was recently revoked. By using this website, you agree not to sell or make a profit in any way from any information or forms that you obtained through this website. How Long do Occupational Licenses last? You will also need a copy of your Driving Record. Then the judge decides whetherto sign the Order granting an occupational license.
They are more restricted than the rules for driving with a regular license. How Do You Show Essential Need? The purpose of an is to get people to and from work, school, and to be able to tend to family and medical obligations. We will also need to know if you were required to have an Ignition Interlock device installed on your vehicle, and other items, depending on your criminal history. Occupational Drivers License Austin Texas Many Texans find it surprising to learn of the many circumstances which can lead to a license suspension. This is a legal process you will need the right representation for. If you have more questions, read our page about Do not wait to obtain your Occupational License. If you have outstanding , we may be able to handle those as well although it is always best to get the occupational license first.
Various alcohol and drug-related driving offenses will result in a hard suspension. There is a 90-day waiting period to obtain an essential need license. Texas Occupational License Are you required to obtain a Texas occupational license due to a suspended driver license in Texas? If the driver fails or refuses to submit to a breath or blood test, they will be arrested and taken to jail. Are there any exceptions to these waiting periods? Some courts require that you file a letter from your employer, if you are employed. The car will not turn on until you blow a breath sample. This includes the communities of the Dallas Ft Worth Metroplex, Arlington, Cleburne, Weatherford, Hurst, Euless, Bedford, Mansfield, Richardson, and Plano.
In addition to the locations and times above, an Occupational Driver's License also restricted the Counties in which you can drive. You did something wrong, like drink and drive, and the state of Texas suspended your driving privileges. Occupational Driver's Licenses Most Texans realize that their licenses will be suspended if they refuse to take a Breathalyzer Test or if they receive a conviction for drunk driving. Open Monday to Thursday from 9 am to 5 pm, and on Fridays from 9 am to noon, his office also offers evening appointments for your convenience. All Occupational Licenses must be filed with the Clerk, and certified.
However, if your license was taken away for alcohol or drug-related offenses, you may qualify if you can demonstrate that driving is essential to your daily occupations. You'll need to submit a certified copy of the petition as well as a certified copy of the court order granting the occupational license. At worst, a Judge may question certian hours or locations, but typically the Petition is granted. When can I get my regular Texas Driver's License back? If an appearance is required before a judge, a lawyer can either appear for you or accompany you in the appearance so that you do not have to appear before a judge alone. Contact Kelly McHanan Law in Austin, Texas.
Or perhaps you are a student yourself and rely on your car to get you there. Keates Law Firm has a record of dismissals and acquittals in a variety of criminal cases. You can hire us to handle this for you by calling 888 239-9305 or by. In order to start the vehicle, the driver must blow into the breath alcohol analyzer. You may contact us at for any general questions about an occupational driver's license. No, Occupational Licenses cannot be used for a Class A Commercial Driver's License; only for personal Class C Texas Driver's Licenses.
Driving with a suspended license is a crime. If you license has been suspended in a different state other than Texas, and you are moving to Texas, you may qualify for a Texas occupational drivers license. A in creative writing and enjoys writing legal blogs and articles. It is recommended that you hire a suspended license attorney in Houston to handle your case. It will take a court order, so prepare yourself.
Contact one of our local agents in Austin, Pflugerville or Cedar Park or purchase online. So how much will an Occupational License cost? Contact us her for general questions on. An occupational license allows you to operate a passenger vehicle in connection with work, school-related activities, or the performance of essential household duties like grocery shopping or shuttling kids to and from activities. You will need to pay or resolve the warrants and tickets before having your actual Driver's license reinstated in the future. Fees: How Much Will an Occupational License Cost You? At the Aragon Law Firm, we make it easy to get the process started. You can obtain your driving record quickly by ordering it online at. The wisest choice is to have an lawyer complete the process -- plus, you don't have to come to court! Fill out this form only if you have a low-income, receive public assistance because you have a low income, or cannot pay the court filing fee.
Our form that we ask you to fill out has basic personal information as well as information about your driving history and about the circumstances under which your license is suspended. Bu the process for getting an Occupational License is a little diffent for attorneys. We can do this in person, or electronically through email or fax. If you lost your license because of child support arrears or a physical or mental disability, the court won't grant your petition. This proves that you have the minimum liability required by law. There are several additional terms and conditions that are required to be imposed upon anyone who is granted an occupational license.